Posted by: ericclark | March 14, 2008

Great song about hearing The Clash for the first time

the-gaslight-anthem.jpg  The Gaslight Anthem

Up-and-coming rock band The Gaslight Anthem, a New Jersey group that melds punk rock with soul and country music, has a thing for The Clash.

One of the songs on The Gaslight Anthem’s excellent debut album, 2007’s “Sink or Swim,” pays homage to The Clash in the form of a song about what it feels like to hear the UK punk legends for the first time.

Take a look at the lyrics to the chorus of The Gaslight Anthem’s “I’da Called You Woody, Joe.” Anyone who was floored the first time they heard The Clash surely can relate.

“I heard it like a shot from my skull to my brain / I felt my fingertips tingle and it started to rain / When the walls of my bedroom were trembling around me / This ramshackle voice over attack of a bluesbeat / Telling me he’s only looking for fun / This was the sound of the very last gang in town.”

Listen to “I’da Called You Woody, Joe” at The Gaslight Anthem’s MySpace page here.

Or, check out the song’s video below.

 What do you think?

Responses

  1. I checked this band out because of your blog. They are great. I’ve been listening to it everyday.
    Thanks

  2. GA are a stellar band. Amazing lyrics, passionate music. Tough to beat.

    Jimbo


Leave a Reply

Categories

