Posted by: ericclark | April 23, 2008

Flogging Molly’s Celtic-punk intoxicating on new album

        Flogging Molly

A few days before St. Patrick’s Day, I picked up Flogging Molly’s new album, “Float.” These guys have been a staple on the Celtic-punk scene for years, but somehow I never got around to buying one of their albums. I guess I had gotten my fill of Celtic-punk through some of my longtime favorites like Dropkick Murphys and The Tossers.

So I’ve been listening to “Float” now for more than a month and I still have it in heavy rotation. If I had to choose a favorite album of 2008 so far, this might be it. The seven-member Los Angeles band, led by native Irishman Dave King, obviously  is inspired by Celtic-punk originators The Pogues, but Flogging Molly’s sound on “Float” is less ramshackle and more focused, with Bridget Regan’s fiddle giving the songs a traditional feel while Dennis Casey’s electric guitar adds a contemporary snap.

It looks like I’m far from the only Flogging Molly fan out there, based on the 5 million views of the group’s MySpace page, where about half of the song’s on “Float” are streaming in their entirety. If you only have time to listen to one song, I’d suggest “The Lightning Storm,” which seamlessly flows from fast to faster to warp-speed. I recently was jogging when the song came on my iPod, and I felt like it transformed me into an Olympic sprinter, if only for a few minutes.

What do you think of Flogging Molly?

Responses

  1. I have one of their previous albums, purchased in 2004, but never thought to see if they had something new coming out. Thanks for the heads up.

  2. Flogging Molly is a great band, but after listening to this album, I can’t help but wonder if they’ve lost the “fire in their belly.”

    Swagger and Drunken Lullabies are much better albums.

    Better yet, just attend one of their shows and you’ll see what the buzz is about.

    Kudos to you on The Tossers…I can’t listen to Dropkick anymore. Besides the d-bag fan base that just started listening to them because of that crappy song that was in “The Departed”, they haven’t put out a relevant album since Blackout.

  3. i would have to agree with mike that they had many better albums, i prefer the Irish sound of Drunken Lullabies, swagger, and within a mile of home. their shows are amazing, a few years ago they played in Minnesota for free on St. Patties day, now that is the feeling the band is trying to get, i think that makes a happy fan base. screw moshing, lets dance like were Irish!

  4. I recently saw them for the first time on saturday at Buzz Bake Sale and I must say there amazing, there was a lot of moshing and crowed surfing i left the venue with bruised ribs and chest bone but you can believe i will buy there album and be at there next show.
    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

