Posted by: ericclark | May 30, 2008

Death Cab for Cutie’s mini rock opera

                                                       Death Cab for Cutie

So I picked up Death Cab for Cutie’s new album, “Narrow Stairs,” last week, and I’m having trouble getting past the first two songs. They’re just too good.

“Bixby Canyon Bridge” and “I Will Possess Your Heart” open the album. “Bixby” is more than 5 minutes long and full of ethereal vocals, crunching guitars and swooning atmospherics. “Possess” tops 8 minutes, with the first half of the song an already infamous instrumental anchored by a thick bass groove.

Together, these two songs seem to form a 12-minute mini rock opera. I’ve been listening to them practically on repeat. It’s like the rest of the album doesn’t even matter, with its shorter and more accessible songs. But I’m sure I’ll get into the rest of “Narrow Stairs” in due time.

Actually, I have given a few listens to the album’s third song, “No Sunlight,” and I think the lyrics are darkly hilarious, with singer Ben Gibbard detailing how depressed he is because he’s no longer a child. I can relate to that. I think any adult who participates in the daily grind can relate to that. Which doesn’t exactly explain why a newly minted rock star like Gibbard (“Narrow Stairs” debuted at No. 1 on Billboard’s album chart) would have much to be unhappy about.

Have a listen to “I Will Possess Your Heart” at Death Cab for Cutie’s Myspace page or watch the video below. You’ll have to get the album to hear “Bixby Canyon Bridge,” which I think actually is the better of the two songs.

What do you think?

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Could you answer a couple of questions for me?

    What the heck is a “swooning atmospheric?”

    And, when are you going to grow a set and stop listening to girl music?

    \m/ Axl Rules \m/


Leave a Reply

Categories

