Posted by: ericclark | March 10, 2008

Actress Zooey Deschanel of “Elf” in a band?

zooey.jpg                                            Zooey Deschanel

Yes, actress Zooey Deschanel of “Elf” is in a band. But unlike so many other groups fronted by a famous actor or actress, Deschanel’s band doesn’t suck.

In fact, Deschanel’s group, She & Him, has the potential to become huge. The actress, who sang so memorably in “Elf,” is joined by indie-rock troubador M. Ward in She & Him, instantly giving the project plenty of credibility.

She & Him’s debut album, “Volume 1,” comes out March 18. The group is offering a taste of its sound on its MySpace page, with the song “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here.”

Over a jittery piano and acoustic guitar, with a few electric guitar licks here and there, Deschanel’s voice absolutely shines on “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here,” with the sort of smoky exuberance not usually found in a pop song.

I’ll go out on a limb and say “Elf” is the best Christmas movie of the ’00s, and Deschanel’s singing was one of the best parts of the movie. I can’t wait to hear more from She & Him.

Listen to “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here” here.

What do you think?


Responses

  1. Pretty good. I also enjoyed her singing in ‘Elf’
    Thanks for the tip, I’ll look for She&Him — not on itunes yet. I enjoy the blog…

  2. Nice song. My 2 year old was dancing to it.

  3. zooey deschanel is the best! i lov her band she & him specially the song change is hard, congratulations zooey! good luck!

  4. I didn’t even notice it was you Zooey Deschanel, in this movie. wow you totally look different with darker hair now!

  5. That’s GOOOOOOOOOOD
    I LOVE Z…..

  6. […] We got this photo of Zooey here. […]

  7. I love Zooeys voice! I think another actress breaking the rule of crappy bands is Leisha Hailey, I love her band Uh Huh Her, stupid name but the best band ive heard in years, Zooeys stuff reminds me of them


Leave a comment

Categories