Posted by: ericclark | February 9, 2009

Figuring out Franz Ferdinand’s “Tonight”

Franz Ferdinand                                                                                                                                                        Franz Ferdinand

It usually doesn’t take me very long to figure out if I like an album or not. Two, three listens and I’m pretty much sold or bored.  But Franz Ferdinand’s new one, “Tonight,” is taking some time to sink in.

I was a pretty big fan of these Glaswegian dance-rockers’ self-titled debut back in 2004, and I really loved the first half or so of 2005″s “You Could Have it So Much Better.” I’ve been enjoying “Tonight” so far in a handful of listens, with first single “Ulysses” and 8-minute synth freakout “Lucid Dreams” standing out.

But it seems like the highs on “Tonight” aren’t as high as on past albums. Likewise, the lows don’t seem to be as low. There isn’t a song on here that I’ve taken to skipping, but there also isn’t one that’s truly blowing my mind.

I guess I’ll just have to give it more time. Have you heard “Tonight”? What’s your take?

In the meantime, check out the video for “Ulysses” below. I like it when singer Alex Kapranos whisper-yells “Last night was wild!” Or check out some other songs on the group’s MySpace page.


Responses

  1. This is really sad. I still remember seeing them at the Cotton Club in Atlanta thinking, “My god, they are amazing!” Where did that band go? This was a band that used to be one of the tightest or together sounding bands out there and now its anything but. Its like they are confused.


Leave a comment

Categories